The University, initially known as Andhra Pradesh Open University, was set up on 26th August 1982 through an Act of the A.P. State Legislature (APOU Act 1982). Subsequently, the University was renamed as Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Open University on 26 October, 1991 by the Government of Andhra Pradesh. The establishment of this University, the first of its kind in India, heralded an era of affirmative action on the part of the Government of Andhra Pradesh to provide opportunities of higher education to all sections of society to meet the changing individual and social needs. All the programmes offered by the University are recognised by the University Grants Commission, New Delhi. The motto of the University is "EDUCATION FOR ALL". The new experiment in distance education led to the opening of the portals of higher education to a variety of potential students like housewives, farmers, skilled and unskilled labour, Jawans, Policemen, etc., who would otherwise not be able to acquire new skills and higher qualifications. The University is providing services to the student community through a wide network of 213 study centres spread across both Telangana & Andhra Pradesh States, including 23 regional co-ordination centres and 14 number of centres excluding for women students. Even prison inmates under life sentence also enroll themselves as students and pursue education through exclusive study centres at Central Prison - Cherlapally, Warangal, Rajahmundry, Visakhapatnam, Kadapa and Nellore. Looking back at the achievements, over three decades, the University has gained a prestigious and enviable position in society by:
  • Providing access to large number of non-formal learners to the undergraduate programmes.
  • Designing courses innovatively as Foundation Courses, Core Courses and Application Oriented Courses.
  • Producing quality materials for interactive learning in Telugu, English and Urdu.
  • Setting up a wide network of support services.
  • Widening access to research, postgraduate and professional programmes through the distance mode.
  • Giving hands on training for laboratory practice in Science and Technology Courses.
  • Using multiple modes (Print and Electronic) for delivery of instruction.
The Campus: Located on a panoramic, elevated site of 53.63 acres in Jubilee Hills, the University has impressive buildings, green lawns and tree- lined roads that enhance the scenic beauty of the rocks all around. The campus has the Administrative and Support Services Block, Guest house, CSTD & GRADE building, Academic Branch, Science & Technology Multi- functional Labs (STML), EMR&RC and Library building, Study Material House, an extensive Open Plaza, a Conference Hall, Centre for Learner Services, Vice-Chancellor’s Lodge and an Auditorium named after Late Sri Bhavanam Venkatram, Former Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh who was instrumental in estabilishing this University. The KU band Earth Station is located on the University Campus. There are laboratories in the Science Faculty for providing hands on training to Science Students of Physics, Chemistry, Geology, Botany, Zoology and Environmental Sciences. The Science Practicals are now conducted at the Science and Technology Multi- Functional Lab (STML) building on the campus. A new e-class room with built-in technological facilities has been added to the existing civil structures. The Narla Memorial Library is also housed in the Academic Building. A Multimedia Lab, Two Synergy Halls, a well-furnished Faculty Room and a Language Lab have also been set up in the Academic Building.
Facilities at the Campus:
  • Library
  • Reception (Information and Enquiry)
  • Examination Enquiries Counter
  • Student Services Counter
  • U.G. Science Centre at STML Building
  • SBI Dr. BRAOU Branch
  • SBI (ATM) Centre
  • Post Office
  • A.P. Online Centre
  • Telephone-cum-Xerox facility
  • Bus service (at regular intervals)
  • Canteen
  • Wheelchair Facility for Handicapped Students